Song for the Shy

May 10, 2007

An MP3 of Song for the Shy is available here.

On the train from Gdansk, you were sitting across the aisle
I was looking at you, you looked back and smiled
As I got up to leave, I’m sure I saw you wave
Should have spoken to you then, but I’m just not that brave
And I don’t speak so much Polish anyway
This is a song for the shy, I’ll sing it to you some day.

You were sitting at the bar as if you owned the place
I’d seen you before, but I couldn’t name your face
You were driving a point home, you were driving me mad
You were everything I’d never had
I was looking at you, you were looking away
This is a song for the shy, I’ll sing it to you some day.

You were walking down the street, in a world of your own
Humming away to Like a Rolling Stone
You did a double-take as I called out to you
You seemed taken aback that I recognised you
I was looking at you, you were looking afraid
This is a song for the shy, I’ll sing it to you some day.

Look Back in Anger was on, and we finally went out
We could never agree what the play was about
We sat at the back towards the side of the room
The production was great but the romance was doomed
I was looking at you, you were watching the play
This is a song for the shy, I’ll sing it to you some day.

Now I’m still kicking about here, but you’re long since gone
I guess some of us grow up, some of us move on
If you’re ever back, I’m quite easily found
Be sure to look me up, I’ll maybe bring you round
To looking at me a different way
This is a song for the shy, I’ll sing it to you some day.

Leave a Reply

