1984

May 11, 2007

 An MP3 of 1984 is available here.

My name is George, just like my dad
Like him, I’m the President of the States
We’re the crookedest cop the world has ever had
Now someone’s thrown it right back in our face


So round up the usual suspect
The foreign-looking chappie with the beard
As scapegoats go, he’s perfect
And just to prove it all he’s disappeared

In the name of Democracy and Freedom
Please don’t challenge me about the war
Don’t send me letters, I won’t read them
Tonight we’re going to party like it’s 1984

The best way to remember our dead
Is to get out there and kill some more
And if our bombs hit hospitals instead
Well, it isn’t what we meant to use them for

In the name of Democracy and Freedom
Please don’t challenge me about the war
Don’t send me letters, I won’t read them
Tonight we’re going to party like it’s 1984

I’m just trying to sate the nation’s bloodlust
The press are bound to ride along
Now I’ve been elected, I will do what I must
Sixty million half-wits can’t be wrong
In the name of Democracy and Freedom
Please don’t challenge me about the war
Don’t send me letters, I won’t read them
Tonight we’re going to party like it’s 1984

Leave a Reply

