Drabble: “I’m sorry”

May 16, 2007

The phone rings, waking me from a tough night’s sleep. NO CALLER ID. Either telemarketing or overseas, neither of which I want to take right now. I pick it up all the same. There’s a pause, a long pause, then a short tone. Computerised voice: “I’m sorry.” For what? Did it do something wrong? Has someone died? Have computers finally seen the error of their error-ridden ways? Or is it upset about my romantic, financial and employment situations? Does it call in random apologies to strangers from time to time?

“Me too,” I told no-one. “I’m sorry too.”

Leave a Reply

