Miles Kington

February 1, 2008

Well, obviously the Blog365 experiment lasted all of a week before moving and travelling interrupted. But I’m going to do my best to at least make it through the first fortnight of February with a daily blog post.

So, I’m sad to learn that Miles Kington died. He was one of the first journalists to show me that there was more to comedy than slapstick and gags, that wit could make for entertainment. It’s a sad state of affairs that more people are familiar with Jeremy Beadle than Kington. At sixth form, I would turn to his column in the Indy, below the letters page, before even looking at the crossword. For a while I couldn’t go into a charity shop without picking up a book on Franglais. I tried writing Franglais once, but found that my French was too good.

I guess I eventually outgrew his writing – it’s impossible to write daily for many years without returning to familiar set-pieces, and I’ve done exactly the same thing with John O’Farrell, Charlie Brooker and probably a dozen others who don’t spring to mind since.

In any case, I just wanted to say restez en paix, Miles.

Leave a Reply

